Program Description: The library presents the latest in its History Room Local History Speaker series: “Still Standing: The Farrand House on Fairview” by Paul Barrett. This historic and architecturally unique house has been in the news lately as there are plans to tear it down. Come and hear the history of the house while it is still standing!
Date/Time: Thursday, April 11, 6-7:30pm.
Recommended Audience: All are welcome. No registration necessary.
The Farrand family farmhouse, formerly known as “The Pines,” is an intact example of Gothic Revival architecture, and sits somewhat inconspicuously on Fairview Avenue. However, it was once the high visibility nucleus of a cutting-edge 140 acre farm operation with demonstrated advancements in the growing, transport and marketing of high quality produce. The Farrands were also involved in Hudson based shipping, warehousing and banking businesses and the management of sugar plantations in San Domingo. Long before the bustle of strip mall traffic and fast food outlets, the Farrand operation was a leading grower and shipper of pears in New York State and, amongst other things, introduced Pekin Ducks to the region. Paul Barrett will weave the story of this iconic building from the 1850s to the present.
Mr. Barrett, a researcher and local historian, is a sales agent for TKG Real Estate. This is his second talk for the library’s local history series.
A question and answer period and refreshments will follow the talk. For more information email email@example.com, call 518-828-1792 x101, or visit the main desk in the library.